News Feed

Cover Article

Cover Article


Eunjin Choi and Hyeon-Ho Jeong, respectively, received the 2017 scholarship awards from the Korean Scientists and Engineers Association in the FRG (VeKNI e.V)


T. Qiu, S. Palagi, and F. Adams won the Best Oral Paper Award, at the 10th Hamlyn Symposium on Medical Robotics, 2017

Cover Article



Jan-Philipp Günther and  Vincent Mauricio Kadiri won the first poster prize on the NanoBioMater 2017 Summer School & International Conference for our poster with the title Nanorheology and Nanopropellers in Biological Fluids.


Hyeon-Ho Jeong was awarded this year's Graduate Student Award at the 2017 E-MRS Spring Meeting in Strasbourg.

Faculty position

Congrats and good luck to Dr. Vijay Chikkadi who will start his own group this summer as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Science Education Research (IISER) Pune.

Steinhofer lecture

Peer Fischer gives the 2017 Steinhofer lecture at the University of Freiburg and receives the associated prize of the Steinhofer-Foundation.


International Conference on Micro and Nanomachines

The 2017 International conference on micro- and nanomachines will be held in Wuhan, China, from the 25-28 August and will be co-chaired by Peer Fischer:

Special issue

Stefano Palagi, Tian Qiu and Peer Fischer are editing a special issue in the journal Micromachines on “Locomotion at Small Scales: From Biology to Artificial Systems”

Our research in Der Spiegel und Die Zeit

Our nanorobots are the topic of a special report on robots in the newspaper Die Zeit and Der Spiegel has previously covered our research, also highlights our work in its 2017 March 11 issue.

World Technology award

Peer Fischer wins the 2016 World Technology award in Hardware.

MRS award

Congratulations to Hyeon-Ho Jeong who received the MRS Graduate Student Gold Award for his work at the 2016 MRS Fall Meeting in Boston.


Debora Walker receives a Humboldt Postdoctoral fellowship to go to Harvard (August 2016).

ERC Grant

We are awarded an ERC Proof of Concept Grant (August 2016).


Humboldt fellowship

Congratulations to Dr. Zhiguang Wu who has been awarded a Humboldt Research Fellowship for Postdoctoral Researchers

 (June 2016).

Faculty position

Congrats and good luck to Dr. Ji Tae Kim who has started as Assistant Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at The University of Hong Kong (June 2016).


Tian Qiu has been granted the “National Award for Outstanding Self-financed Chinese Students Abroad 2015” by the China Scholarship Council (April, 2016).

Featured Nature Materials article


Our article on soft microrobots is discussed in Nature News & Views.

Fellow of the RSC

Peer Fischer is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Cover Article

Featured highlight

"Nanoswimmers: Designed for speed" Nature Nanotechnology 10, 568 (July 2015).

Winners: Design Challenge

Congratulations to the Tian, Andrew, Debora, and Alejandro whose video entry won the “Microrobotics Design Challenge” at the Hamlyn Symposium in London. (June, 2015).


Alex Solovev, who just left the group as a Humboldt postdoctoral fellow, has been appointed a Professor at Fudan University under the 1000’s talents program. (June, 2015)

Fabian is interviewed by SWR 2 and the lab appears on Indonesian TV

Fabian Adams starts his project in the group and talks about the potential of miniaturized, minimally invasive medical procedures:


A TV program about our lab and work (in Indonesian)

Featured "Hot Paper"

Congratulations Eisenberger scholarship

Dr. med. Fabian Adams is awarded a Ferdinand-Eisenberger fellowship. The scholarships frees Dr. Adams from his clinical duties (University Clinic, Univ. of Freiburg) so that he can devote the next 12 months to research here at the Micro Nano and Molecular Systems lab.



Dr Jerome Roche leaves the group to start as an Assistant Professor at the University of Toulouse (May, 2015).

Congratulations Günter Petzow prize

Dr. Andrew Mark receives the 2015 Günter Petzow prize for his contribution to the development of nanoGLAD and its applications (e.g. Nature Materials 12, 802).

Our work in the news, on TV, radio, etc.

Our work on realizing a microscallop and nanopropellers that can move through biological tissue is in the news. Our group appears on TV, radio, in newspapers, and on multiple news sites. (December 2014).

Featured Cover Article


Tung-Chun (John) Lee will leave the group and move to a faculty position at University College London, where he will start his own group in the Centre for Materials Discovery. (August 2014)


We welcome three new postdocs to the group: Piotr  Garbacz, Jérome Roche, and Dhruv Singh.

Paper award

Our  paper: Tian Qiu, Debora Schamel, Andrew G. Mark, and Peer Fischer's paper "Active Microrheology of the Vitreous of the Eye applied to Nanorobot Propulsion" is the "Best Automation Paper Award - Finalist" of IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation - ICRA 2014.  (June 2014)


John Gibbs will leave the group and move to a faculty position in Arizona where he will start his own group as a Prof in Physics; Marcel Pfeifer passed his Ph.D. exam – congratulations to both. Welcome to Prof. J.P. Singh from IIT Delhi who is a sabbatical visitor. (May, 2014).

Smallest Chemical Nanomotor and Smallest Nanopropeller published

We have published a paper about synthetic chemical nanomotors with an overall size (30 nm) that is  comparable to that of some enzymes (Nano Lett., 2014, 14 (5), pp 2407–2412), as well as nanopropellers that are small enough to navigate complex biological networks (diameter of 70 nm), yet can be fully controlled (ACS Nano, Article ASAP, DOI: 10.1021/nn502360t).

Guest editor

Peer Fischer is guest editor for the Nanoscale themed issue on “Helical Micro- and Nanostructures” (Nanoscale, 2014).


Andrew Mark, John Gibbs, John Lee, and Peer Fischer win the Ground breaking contribution award for their paper “Growth of chiral nanoparticles” at the International Conference on Chiroptical Spectroscopy in Nashville, TN, USA, 12 June 2013.